Always Blame YOURSELF For YOUR Short-Comings

Never blame anybody for ones’ failures. Never blame the marijuana, the alcohol, your parents, surroundings, ethic, or even the fact that you maybe on the bad side of a stereotype in history. Whenever you fail to reach your goals BLAME YOURSELF. IT’S YOUR FAULT!

LaVar Ball, the father of UCLA basketball prodigy and future NBA lottery pick Lonzo Ball said, “I’ve always instilled in my boys that whenever your team loses it’s your fault, and when the team wins give credit to the team.” There’s always something you can do better for a better result. Not just in sports, but in life. Even if Lonzo scores 50 points in a loss, “he could’ve done more”, says LaVar. That mentality has Lonzo along with his brothers as some of the best non-NBA basketball players in the state California, and they’re all teenagers still.

I’m only 22 years old. I’ve made mistakes throughout my life, I hung with the wrong people, I made decisions before fully having a thought process, but it wasn’t until I realized that I was the problem that I started to make the proper leaps in the right direction. I have goals and ambitions just like many young men and women, and I’m perfect. I’m a former weed smoker. It caused me to over-sleep, relax too often, and to not have the conscious to save money to purchase necessary upgrades in my life, and most importantly, to have a savings account.

But guess what, IT’S MY FAULT!

I don’t blame the drug, the parties, nor the influences. It took for ME to realize what had to be done, and that I was the problem for me to bury that addiction. Weed is drug that causing relaxation and self-awareness in my case, but once it became an addiction then I became the problem.

With that being said, I no longer associate myself with marijuana or any mind altering substances because once it becomes an addiction then that’s when I become the problem. I have only one life to live. Drugs can temporarily take away pain and build self-confidence, but once those few hours expire and that high cools down, you’re back to reality, and you’re back spending money.

Why do that when I’ve gotten to this point of my life with a sober brain? Drugs will always be here, but our time to get the job done won’t.

Author: armanitfryer

Armani T. Fryer is the brand. A collegiate multimedia journalist emphasizing is sports reporting and analyst. Jackson State University

Leave a Reply

