“Life Has Released A Beast” Alexsis Shorter

Alexsis Shorter, just a young lady from Utica, MS has a message for females battling life obstacles

Shorter started dancing at the young age of 4, and instantly grew passion for it. Dominique Wolfe, a member of the famous Dancing Dolls dance team located in Jackson, MS referred her. Alexsis became a member from 9th until 12th grade while attending Raymond High School. Before she became a member of the dancing dolls, she was nothing is what she says.

As her dominance and passion for dancing continued to grow, she made the decision to attend Jackson State University and made tryouts for the Prancing Jsettes squad for the Sonic Boom of the South marching band. Everything went well until Jan. 2016 when she got into a car accident, was ejected from the vehicle, and broke her left shoulder.

Her prancing career came to a short end, and her confidence was shattered.

It is now Apr. 2017, and in her words, “I’m on my stuff now.” She is almost fully rehabbed from an accident that almost ended her life.

She states listening to her favorite song Gravity, “First and foremost Thank God and thank the Lord, because the Lord is still sticking with me and has always been there for me and I realize now, he will never leave my side.  And I will also like to thank my family and the few individuals that actually believed in me and is still believing in me until this day.  YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE!

Hummmm…. What is dancing?

Dancing=Passion, you either have it or you don’t.

“Before I got on the Dancing Dolls I DID NOT know how to dance, I thought I did. When I became a Jsette I DID NOT know the Jsette style, but I knew what I was taught, so I had to adapt and convert so I can eventually become the best that I KNEW I COULD BE. I had the right captain who’s name is Dominique Martin and the right squad which was The Prancing Jsettes 2015 squad. I.D.T.F.M.S’15!

Before I got on Dancing Dolls I DID NOT KNOW how to dance. I thought I did because of the simple fact that I had been dancing since the age 4. I Started off on a dance team called Mahogany Dancers. When I became a Jsette I DID NOT KNOW the Jsette style but I knew how to dance because I was apart of a hell of a dance team called Dancing Dolls, so I had to adapt and convert. I knew I would be something special but I didn’t believe in myself because I didn’t have the right circle to support me and keep me on my toes but the funny part is, I thought I did. That’s a whole other story for another day though.

But…..It’s about the moves you make, the way you make your moves, who you affiliate yourself with, all of those things will play a huge role in your life, without you even realizing it sometimes. This is the way I view life now and for that, the Lord will make sure I succeed. I feel like it’s my job to not let him down because he did give me another chance to prove myself not only to the world, but to him and that’s the most important thing to me right now. That’s why I dance the way I dance because i’m allowing myself to be great now and live up to my full potential. My goal is to make him and my family proud honestly! I say this to every young lady, and young man IT’S ALL ABOUT WHAT YOU WANT! BELIEVE IN YOURSELF!  I want to get this message out because everyone needs a little word of encouragement from time to time. God has blessed me this gift to understand, and from this moment forward I will ADAPT, and use that to the best of my ability!

“Shout-out to God, my family (for always supporting me through whatever), The Diamond Dancers( for making this specific challenge), Ms. Crowley, Dominique Martin, and all of 2015, especially my sisters; Kristen & Jaz, even 14 Jaz, Morgan Hightower: (1st person to actually come up to me and  give me support and critics)Tiara, Diamond, Lamon, Mia, Erica, Gabby, Michael, and last but not least, my new job for bringing out my inner self.”

Her message is to all of the haters as well, who claimed to be there but really wasn’t. She looked and looks past all of you.

Instagram: MIS_STOOD
SNAPCHAT: SHORTERA
FACEBOOK:SOMETHING’ABOUT ALEXSIS

Author: armanitfryer

Armani T. Fryer is the brand. A collegiate multimedia journalist emphasizing is sports reporting and analyst. Jackson State University

Leave a Reply

